We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

We Are Not The Shame

by F. Virtue

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price


Make That 03:33
Baronothing 04:17
Can Tell 01:38
Anita Bryant 03:03
The Mean 02:06
Hard <3 04:08


Fresh off the release of 23 year old F. Virtue’s group EP with J57, Trill Cunningham, comes F dot’s full length (and 13th studio album), We are Not The Shame via Fake Four. And damn is it mature. As expected from someone who has done as much as he has over the past 10 years, from joining a Rhymesayers tour around Canada to performing with Sleigh Bells and releasing songs with such heavyweights as Sims of Doomtree, George Watsky and Mac Lethal, F. Virtue has got to be the most legendary MC who is nowhere near being legendary.

And this, this is a rap album, but these aren’t just raps. F. Virtue wrote and produced We Are Not The Shame to show listeners they are not alone, and all their issues don’t make them bad people. From the album’s self-titled opener, which addresses Virtue’s fuzzy childhood of sexual abuse, to Anita Bryant, the definitive ‘homophobia in hip hop’ song… this is some serious shit. Though F. Virtue outs himself on this record, he is not trying to enter the club-centric braggadocio world of previously existing queer MCs like Mykki Blanco or Le1f. Conversely, F. Virtue approaches music through the lens of lyrics. But don’t call him a conscious rapper. Growing up Canadian, and currently residing in Manhattan, F. Virtue blurs the lines between fashion, fortune, spirituality and philosophy, which is reflective of the modern era of upcoming youth, equally as informed on social and political concepts as well as Hollywood – think Aesop Rock meets Asap Rocky.

Featuring co-production from renowned Brooklyn multi-instrumentalist and engineer Jon Markson of Strung Out, Such Gold, and Time Crisis, as well as a collaboration with occasional Mac Miller producer, Willis Beats, and a collaboration with Sage Francis’ latest signees, Falside and Juan Deuce, this dark and deeply atmospheric record drops August 6th digitally through Fake Four, and October 8th on vinyl through boutique Euro imprint Cooler Than Cucumbers with 3 bonus tracks. And remember, you have nothing to be ashamed of. You are so much more.


released August 6, 2013

1. We are Not the Shame
Prod: F. Virtue, bass, guitar, and additional vox by Jon Markson

2. Make That
Prod: F. Virtue

3. Baronothing
Prod: F. Virtue

4. Can Tell
Prod: F. Virtue, guitar and additional vox by Jon Markson

5. Stickers ft. Andrew Milicia and Juan Deuce
Prod: F. Virtue and Falside

6. Birthday Candles
Prod: F. Virtue

7. Anita Bryant
Prod: Couch Potatoes and Time Crisis, additional vox by Jon Markson, live drums by Devan Bentley

8. The Mean
Prod: F. Virtue

9. Perks ft. Jon Markson
Prod: F. Virtue

10. Hard<3
Prod: F. Virtue, additional bass and guitar by Mike Moschetto

All cuts by DJ Emoh Betta

1, 2, 4, 7, 9 recorded at The Gallery Recording Studio in Brooklyn, NY, and mixed by Time Crisis (Jon.Markson@gmail.com and WillBrownProductions@gmail.com)
3, 5, 6, 8, 10 recorded at Die Fameless Sunset Park in Brooklyn, NY, and mixed by Mike Moschetto (MikeMoschetto@gmail.com)
Mastered by James Zaner (Jzaner@gmail.com)
Artwork by Greg Matesich


all rights reserved



Fake Four Inc. New Haven, Connecticut

Fake Four Inc. is a record label based in New Haven, CT that specializes in experimental hip hop, indie pop and anything else we like.


contact / help

Contact Fake Four Inc.

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Fake Four Inc. recommends:

If you like We Are Not The Shame, you may also like: